The old Mogador, now listed as World Heritage by UNESCO, exceptional by its fortifications erected in a Vauban style, was inhabited since antiquity by the native Berbers, the Phoenicians then the Romans, before becoming in the 16th century a bastion Portuguese who built there in 1506 the fortress and the ramparts quickly abandoned in front of the relentless resistance of the local population.
However, the founding of the city of Essaouira proper will be done by Sultan Mohammed ben Abdellah, who launched its construction from 1760 and had an original experience by entrusting it to several renowned architects, notably Théodore Cornut, who traces the city plan, with the mission of building a city adapted to the needs of foreign merchants. Once built, it continues to grow and knows a golden age and an exceptional development, becoming for fifty years the most important commercial port of the country but also its diplomatic capital..

It is now one of the most attractive cities on the Atlantic coast thanks above all to the unique atmosphere that reigns in its alleys, teeming with onlookers, fishermen, traders and craftsmen, joined by artists from all over the world. To stroll through its medina is to let yourself be carried away by the scents and the colors through mazes that are both mysterious and intoxicating.
Its legendary port is a mind possessing place. Stroll around, taste the day’s catch, meet the people, and soak up the Moroccan culture in all its splendor.

Essaouira inside…

While strolling in the alleys you will discover the city, its architecture, its museum, its markets, the port where you will be able to see the fishermen return with full nets, at the end of the morning.

To purify oneself & relax…

Many hammams are present in the Medina, do not hesitate to ask us for advice !

Weekly souks

Monday: Souk Had Adra
Monday: Souk Tnine Imin Tlite
Wednesday: Souk Larbaa Ida Ou Gourd
Thursday: Souk Shmiss Meskala
Saturday: Souk Sebt Neknafa
Sunday: Souk Had Dra

Museum of Popular Arts and Traditions
Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah

From antiquity to the present day, discover the objects, customs, music and crafts of the region.

The major events of cultural and sporting year of Essaouira

March
Rallye Aïcha des Gazelles

April
Spring Classical Music Festival
April
The Windsurf World Cup
June
Gnaoua World Music Festival
October
Festival of Andalusia Atlantiques
December
the Jazz Sous l’ Arganier Festival

Without forgetting the numerous events, conferences, screenings, openings … Organized throughout the year by the Essaouira Mogador Association and by the French Institute in Essaouira.

2, rue Mohamed Diouri
44000 Essaouira | Morocco

Legal Notice
Privacy & cookies policy | GTC

L’ancienne Mogador, désormais classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, exceptionnelle par ses fortifications érigées dans un style Vauban, fut habitée dès l’antiquité par les indigènes Berbères, les Phéniciens puis les Romains, avant de devenir au 16ème siècle un bastion Portugais qui y édifièrent en 1506 la forteresse et les remparts rapidement abandonnés devant la résistance acharnée de la population locale.
Cependant, la fondation de la ville d’Essaouira proprement dite sera le fait du sultan Mohammed ben Abdellah, qui lance sa construction à partir de 1760 et fait une expérience originale en confiant celle-ci à plusieurs architectes de renom, notamment Théodore Cornut, qui trace le plan de la ville, avec pour mission d’édifier une cité adaptée aux besoins des marchands étrangers. Une fois bâtie, elle ne cesse de croître et connaît un âge d’or et un développement exceptionnel, devenant pendant une cinquantaine d’années le plus important port commercial du pays mais aussi sa capitale diplomatique.

C’est maintenant l’une des cités les plus attachantes de la côte Atlantique grâce surtout à l’atmosphère unique qui règne dans ses ruelles, grouillantes de badauds, de pêcheurs, de commerçants et d’artisans, auxquels viennent se mêler des artistes du monde entier. Déambuler dans sa médina, c’est se laisser porter par les senteurs et par les couleurs au long de dédales à la fois mystérieux et enivrants.
Son légendaire et emblèmatique port, est un lieu inoubliable, sur lequel on peut flâner, admirer et déguster les prises du jours, rencontrer la population, et s’imprégner de la culture Marocaine dans toute sa splendeur.

Essaouira inside…

En flânant dans les ruelles vous une découvrirez la ville, son architecture, son musée, ses marchés, le port où vous pourrez voir les pécheurs revenir les filets pleins, en fin de matinée.

Pour vous purifier & vous détendre…

De nombreux hammams sont présents dans la Médina, n’hésitez pas à nous demander conseil !

Souks hebdomadaires

Lundi : Souk Had Adra
Lundi : Souk Tnine Imin Tlite
Mercredi : Souk Larbaa Ida Ou Gourd
Jeudi : Souk Shmiss Meskala
Samedi : Souk Sebt Neknafa
Dimanche : Souk Had Dra

Musée des Arts et des Traditions Populaires
Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah

De l’antiquité à nos jours, découvrez les objets, coutumes, musiques et artisanat de la région.

Les grands rendez-vous de l’année culturelle et sportive d’Essaouira

Mars
Le rallye Aïcha des Gazelles

Avril
Le Printemps musical des Alizés
Avril
La coupe du monde de Windsurf
Juin
Le festival Gnaoua et Musiques du monde
Octobre
Le festival des Andalousies atlantiques
Décembre
Le festival Jazz sous l’arganier

Sans oublier les nombreux événements, conférences, projections, vernissages…Organisés tout au long de l’année par l’Association Essaouira Mogador et par l’Institut Français d’Essaouira.


2, rue Mohamed Diouri
44000 Essaouira | Maroc

Mentions Légales
Politique de confidentialité & cookies | CGV